Call:816.892.0803 ǀ Email:

The Five Love Languages

You are here:

5 Love Languages by Gary ChapmanDo you know your partner loves you, but you don’t feel like they do? Try the Five Love Languages test by Gary Chapman.

The love languages are:

  • Quality time
  • Physical touch
  • Receiving gifts
  • Acts of service
  • Words of Affirmation

Once you have taken the test, identify how you like to receive love and tell your partner. You may want to listen to my video (above) to learn more about these five love languages and get examples.

Love Language among friendsAlso, it’s fun to take copies of the test to gatherings with family and friends. Sharing the results with each other can enrich your relationships.

Note that two tests are available:

  • Individual
  • Couple

You may have the same or very different results from these tests, so take both. This knowledge and small adjustments of behavior can improve – and even save – relationships.

For more tips on living, check out my blog.

Want to talk? Make an appointment with me.

Please note, this article first appeared in the West Plaza Neighborhood Association Newsletter, January – February 2018 issue on page 5.


Author: Martha Childers

Martha Childers, EdS, LPC is a multicultural psychotherapist specializing in couples, grief and caregiver stress. Martha is a licensed professional counselor in Missouri and Kansas. She received her masters and education specialist degrees in counseling psychology from the University of Missouri – Kansas City. She practiced Zen through a variety of Japanese traditional arts for 3-1/2 years. Since that time, mindfulness has been an integral part of her life. Her interest in human nature, beliefs, and life styles led her to become a counselor.

This post has 2 Comments

  1. Gloria Smith on January 16, 2018 at 7:26 pm

    Thank you for your time spent with me.

    Gloria Smith

    • Martha Childers on January 29, 2018 at 9:26 am

      You are very welcome.